Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: International Calls

  1. Regular Member
    LoveConquers's Avatar
    LoveConquers is offline
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    173
    Lv. Percent
    57.6%
    #1

    International Calls

    Advertisements
    Last time I went to Germany I bought a 10.00 card to use internationally from my carrier to call my DB upon arrival/to find him. I turned roaming on and it never could do texts or calls. I rebooted it and everything. I have Family Mobile.

    I'm going on a trip again soon. What went wrong?
  2. Senior Member
    villanelle's Avatar
    villanelle is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    14,760
    Lv. Percent
    14.63%
    #2
    For contacting regarding arrival, if you both have iphones you can just connect to the airport wifi (assuming it has free wifi, which most all do) and then you can imessage or facetime.

    Not sure what went wrong though. I assume the Sim card was compatible with your phone and had international calling?
    Science always wins over bullshit. ~Dick Rutkowski
  3. Regular Member
    LoveConquers's Avatar
    LoveConquers is offline
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    173
    Lv. Percent
    57.6%
    #3
    I had a Samsung J7. This time I have I don't remember, but its a cheaper Samsung Wal-Mart. The SIM seemed compatible, how would I tell?
  4. Senior Member
    villanelle's Avatar
    villanelle is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    14,760
    Lv. Percent
    14.63%
    #4
    I don't know Samsungs, so I can't help you. Sorry. You can probably google the name of your phone, once you figure out what it is, and "sim card specs" or something like that.
    Science always wins over bullshit. ~Dick Rutkowski
  5. MilitarySOS Jewel
    DakotaCowgirl's Avatar
    DakotaCowgirl is offline
    MilitarySOS Jewel
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Home is where our feet land
    Posts
    12,452
    Lv. Percent
    71.96%
    #5
    Did you put a sims card in there? The phones don't come with them; but, you need to have them in to connect with the carriers over there.

    You best bet is to probably just get a throw away phone there and keep using it when you go back.
    "Obstinacy is a fault of temperament. Stubbornness and Intolerance of contradiction result from a special kind of Egotism, which elevates above everything else the pleasure of its own autonomous intellect, to which others must bow.: Carl von Clausewitz
  6. Senior Member
    CDNTrish's Avatar
    CDNTrish is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    6,421
    Lv. Percent
    94.9%
    #6
    Google.
  7. Senior Member
    AMP1984's Avatar
    AMP1984 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    367
    Lv. Percent
    22.97%
    #7
    Both DB and I have iphones so I don't know anything about Samsungs or which sim cards are compatible but I do know if you download Skype you can use wifi to message and video chat if you can connect to free wifi at airports/hotels
  8. Regular Member
    LoveConquers's Avatar
    LoveConquers is offline
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    173
    Lv. Percent
    57.6%
    #8
    I'll look for Wi-Fi his friend is picking me up so not sure how that will go
  9. I've got 32 flavors of that bootylicious bubblegum.
    rayfinkle's Avatar
    rayfinkle is offline
    I've got 32 flavors of that bootylicious bubblegum.
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    18,495
    Lv. Percent
    96.87%
    #9
    If you're flying into Frankfurt International, they have free wifi.
    Get WhatsApp.


    life's a party, rock your body
  10. Regular Member
    LoveConquers's Avatar
    LoveConquers is offline
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    173
    Lv. Percent
    57.6%
    #10
    Yes, I'm flying into Frankfurt. I thought I looked to see if the wifi would hook up. Any ideas of how I can tell what the password is for it? Or is it just open?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •