Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Moving to Coronado in Jan

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Hello Moving to Coronado in Jan

Advertisements
    Hi all, Newbie here. Excited and nervous about upcoming PCS to San Diego. My DH is in the Navy and we have 2 sons ages 18 mos and 2 1/2yrs old. Any info you have about the Coronado are is greatly appreciated. We are currently in Okinawa japan (love it here BTW) and we'll be outta here next weekend and going to visit family in Texas before we head out to San Diego. I look forward to making some friends in the area as well.
  2. Senior Member

Where in Texas? I am from Ft Worth and we're moving to SD maybe in April from Korea. We lived in SD for 8 years before Korea. We also have 2 boys but they are 10 and 12 years old.

Coronado is where Naval Air Station North Island located. It's not really an island though. Is that where your dh will be? That is where the carriers are ported, too. There is no housing on Coronado that I know of or at least only for high ranking officers.

There is also Naval Amphibious Base Coronado which is south of Coronado, the city. There is housing on the Silver Strand which is the strip of land between Coronado and Imperial Beach.

My dh will be at Naval Base San Diego, aka 32nd Street on the USS Pearl Harbor. We know we are going, just not sure when exactly.
  3. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie
    I believe it is North Island, but I am not exactly sure . I know that he will be on the USS Higgins.

We'll be going to visit family in the Brownsville/Harlingen area. I'm just happy that we will be able to spend the holidays with family this year. Being so far away from family and friends can be tough sometimes. So how long have you been in Korea? We've been here in Japan a little over 3 yrs now.

BTW, my name is Marilyn.
  4. Senior Member

Quote Originally Posted by MrsV956 View Post