Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Rent renewal questions

1. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel

Rent renewal questions

Advertisements
    My lease expires in about 3 months and I'm feeling extremely anxious about it. How far in advance is it acceptable to ask my landlord about renewing? They've been renting this house for a long time, but property values in my neighborhood are skyrocketing. I don't think it's terribly unlikely that they'll raise rent which really wouldn't work for me. I'd like to know sooner rather than later because it's going to be really hard to find something else in my area.

I Eelizah
  2. we were all rooting for you
    we were all rooting for you
    I feel like I've moved so much lately that I'm a pro at this stuff I can ask my lawyer sister if you want too.

Your current lease should have language about renewal/extension/expiration of your tenancy. If not, it's your legal right to ask your landlord, and at the same time you can ask them about renewing at the same rate. That way you can be prepared for worst case scenario if they decide not to. IIRC you are renting from an individual, not a company, right? I would assume that being proactive and wanting to stay there, and you being a good tenant, would both be helpful in your case.

I'd also look up your local county/state laws to see if your landlord requires notice and how far in advance, just to be prepared since you're 90 days out from the lease ending. Where I am at now, I signed an additional addendum because they legally must give me 60 days notice before my lease ends and any price increase should I decide to renew. However, I've also lived in places where they don't remind you but it's still your responsibility to tell them 60 days out in writing that you plan to renew or leave.
  3. Senior Member
    Blog Entries
    It's never to early to renew. Landlords actually prefer early notices. It gives them piece of mind as well.