Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Is it okay to feel scared?

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Is it okay to feel scared?

Advertisements
    Hi everyone!
    I've been with my Airman for 5 years now and we have been doing long distance for 3. It's been really hard and we're both really over it and just want to be together. Naturally. But I'm actually really scared to move. I have been here, in Michigan, my entire life. My family is here my friends are here, luckily I don't have a career started or that would be another factor. I'm supposed to move to, most likely, Montana with him in May when I finish my degree. My degree is what has held me back from moving this long, because that's more important. But wow, I'm so terrified to leave! All the bad thoughts keep clouding my mind that I'm putting all my eggs into our basket and what if it doesn't even work out? What if the whole reason this has even worked this long is because we don't see each other everyday? But then I get really excited to be able to just be with him on a daily basis and to fight about normal things instead of things like, why didn't you call me before bed last night?
    I know it's time that we move in because I honestly don't think we would survive another year of long distance. We're both really fed up and it's just been weighing on the both of us. Plus, we've been together for 5 years and it's almost like we're at a stand still of just always missing each other and this same routine.
    Is it normal to be scared to move in with someone you love? Please give me some of your stories! Even if you don't have advice it'd be nice to know I'm not alone in this.
  2. Senior Member