Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anger... What's normal and what's not?

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Help Anger... What's normal and what's not?

Advertisements
    Ok. I'm a newbie, but I have a very urgent question, so I thought I would cut right to the chase... but feel free to move the post if it's in the wrong place.

First of all, I'm an American citizen *not* living in the US, but dating someone in what is roughly equivalent to the military here. I know that not everything will apply, but this is the best resource I have found so far, so I would be so grateful if you could bear with me.

To avoid too many complications, I will just say that my SO is involved in black ops, high-risk operations, etc. They have been alone for a very long time and, moreover, involved in whatever it is they're involved in, lol. (I try to take a light hearted view of it and look at it like just another job... because it is! But a really intense one). Needless to say, relationship skills = not great. We broke up about a month ago because of my SO's jealousy issues and have gotten back together because they have been trying out therapy and making consistent and sincere efforts to be more communicative, less controlling, etc. I'm still a little on edge, but I've been in a similar situation before and I have to give them credit because it's very clear that they're trying to walk the walk instead of just talk the talk. I'm doing my best to take care of myself, too.