Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Would you be cool with this?

1. Senior Member

Would you be cool with this?

Advertisements
    So background information: I'm currently a full-time student enrolled in 4 classes for my teaching credential and a part-time student teacher coteaching at a high school about 18 hours/week. I go to campus 2 nights/week after student teaching. I commute about 7 hours total per week.

I also recently (about 6 weeks ago) started a retail job at a children's store. I usually work about 2-3 shifts per week and take home approximately $150 every two weeks, most of which goes to pay for gas. There is nothing WRONG with the job, but I don't enjoy it. I also typically work closing shifts, so I'm either busy from 6-10 or getting home between 8 and 10 then getting up at 6 the next day. Sometimes I have one day completely off in a week and sometimes I work both Saturday and Sunday.

DB recently moved home and is living an hour away from me. My schedule does not allow me to see him often and he hasn't even started working yet (still getting paid by the military, on terminal leave). He has told me multiple times that he wants to see me more and that especially if I'm unhappy working on top of school and student teaching that I should quit my job and that he will essentially cover my expenses while I'm in school.

My reactions to this are many. First, I would be somewhat uncomfortable taking money from him because I like to be self-sufficient. On the other hand, it would be so nice not to have to work on top of everything else. A third consideration is that I would feel bad quitting after only 6-8 weeks and right before the holidays.

Neither of us have major expenses as we are both currently living at home. The gist of it is that I would love to not work but would feel kind of weird taking him up on this because I've never had a man "take care of me" before. Just looking for thoughts and input.