Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Advice for Spouses Committed to a Career 🙁

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Advice for Spouses Committed to a Career 🙁

Advertisements
    So I'm currently in a very committed relationship with my girlfriend who will be commissioning in December as an Active Duty Army Officer. I have no doubt at this point that we will be engaged soon and that we will be getting married eventually. I'm also a University student studying Computer Science and I'll be graduating next year in December. I am a very dedicated student (we met in the middle of my studies) and plan to go on to receive my Master's in Software Engineering after I graduate and be a Software Engineer. My concern comes from the fact that I might not be able to find a job in my field wherever she goes. I also face a lot of amazing opportunities that are extremely hard to turn down (software engineering with Microsoft for example) and that would require us being in a long distance relationship for a little while. Has anyone faced any issues like this before and if so, what would you advise me to do? Is there anything the military offers to help? All the military spouses I know either have jobs that are easily done remotely, are easy relocatable, or are stay at home moms. I don't want to give up my dreams and everything I've been working for but god knows I'm not going to give her up. We're both very career oriented people and have talked about this before and she's very supportive of whatever I choose. I just want to know my options and what people have done in the past and such.
  2. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie