Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Clueless Navy girlfriend

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Clueless Navy girlfriend

Advertisements
    When I first started dating my boyfriend I skimmed the internet for info on the logistics of being a military SO, but it was the beginning of the relationship and I didn't take it too seriously, I was just curious. For reference, absolutely no one in my family currently alive is in the military or has any experience, plus where I live basically no one enlists. Out of 400 something kids in my graduating class, one person signed up. The point being I have zero knowledge about anything military, nor know anyone personally involved except DB.
    This wouldn't have mattered except he has started bringing up the future. This doesn't scare me, I love him and began mentally preparing myself as things became more serious. But I have no one to talk to who has lived through it.
    My boyfriend is in school, between boot camp and being stationed. He decided to go on the submarine which I can't begrudge as its the only reason we even met (it brought him to my coast). That scares me. The fact he'll be away and unreachable, plus being underwater at depth. I never anticipated being involved with someone in the military and actually considered it a red flag before meeting him. I don't feel that way now but I sometimes wonder if my gut was right.
    I'm lucky to be done with school and have a career that is easy to relocate.
    He will find out his station in the coming months and leave early next year. We've talked about what will happen and he's said he wants me to move with him. He says we can live off base unmarried with the aid of BAH (plus I have my own money saved from my job) I'd keep working and ideally we wouldn't rush into a marriage.