Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How easy is it for you to meet new people?

1. Regular Member

How easy is it for you to meet new people?

Advertisements
    My last visit with my LDR DB was just okay. I met his best friend(s) of 6 years (they're a married couple) and I felt extremely out of place for our weekend couple trip. They all shared memories and have inside jokes and I felt pretty unincluded because I'm also fairly new to dating someone in the military so I don't have much background on bases, how military living is, etc,.

Don't get me wrong, I'm pretty quiet at first but I really felt like a fifth wheel on a four wheel party. I didn't have many things to talk about because it was a new country I've never been to (or researched) and just met the people, and felt like I was in my own world tagging behind my boyfriend even. It was almost as if I wasn't there and he was more excited to talk to them. I mean we held hands sometimes but then eventually he'd go up to where they were walking and he'd occasionally check back to make sure I was still there/following.

Is it normal to feel like this, or if we were all regularly together more often making memories do you think it'd get better or easier for me to feel included? I can't tell if he's the type that ignores when friends are around or if it's me being quiet because I have no history with the group. Like I can tell he's used to it just being the 3 of them and I just felt eh while we did the group couple thing.
  2. Senior Member