Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: New Navy Girlfriend

1. Regular Member

New Navy Girlfriend

Advertisements
    My boyfriend of 8 months left for boot camp. This is my first time knowing anyone in the military. I'm starting to make peace with with this but I'm still so lost about about a few things. I know he's at basic right now then he'll have graduation and go to "A" school. After that he'll have a few days home until he goes to his job. That's where I get confused. I feel like after he ships to his job I'll never see him again. It's so confusing to me. So if anyone could give me some advice that would greatly help. Thank you!
    Last edited by NavyGirl712; 07-16-2017 at 01:29 AM.
  2. Senior Member
    "She knew she loved him when 'home' went from being a place to being a person."
  3. Senior Member
    when he gets orders how much you see him depends on a lot of things, such as what his job is (some have more free time than others, so visiting when he has to work may or may not be a good option), where he is stationed (state side is a lot easier to visit than Japan).
    A lot of us have at one point done a long distance relationship, which work if both of you want it to work.

what kind of advice are you looking for? My family is proof that LDRs can work, dh was in Japan for 3 years and San Diego for one while I stayed in Ohio. We are now married with a flock of children.

I am assuming you are pretty young (just because most guys join out of high school) so I would suggest focusing on your studies and meeting your goals, if things are going well after he gets orders, if they are stateside you can relocate to be closer to him if you want to.
  4. Senior Member
    You will still be able to visit each other! It might not be as often as you'd want thanks to busy schedules and the cost of plane tickets, but it is definitely doable for the right person
  5. Senior Member