Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Seeking Information on Personal Transfers

1. Old Newbie
    Old Newbie

Big Grin Seeking Information on Personal Transfers

Advertisements
    What is the difference between a personal transfer and a general transfer? If you know anything about these I want to know more about a personal transfer and whether or not you have to spend your own personal funds and have them reimbursed? Does a personal transfer mean/ensure that he would get posted in a place of his choice either within the US or a US base of his choosing? Any information is greatly appreciated. I am a newbie.
  2. Senior Member
    I've never heard the language personal transfer or general transfer before and a quick Google search is not very helpful. Is he reenlisting and looking to choose his next duty station? I know DB was offered that as an incentive to get him to reenlist. If that's what you're talking about, then yes the Army would cover his PCS expenses to move him from his current duty station to his new one. As far as it being ensured, literally nothing in the military is guaranteed.

If that's not what you're talking about, the only other things I can think of would be transferring National Guard or Reserve units or transferring from one branch of the military to another. Can you be more specific?
  3. Senior Member
    Never heard of that....a little more detail would help figure out what you mean.
  4. Old Newbie
    Old Newbie
    He heard about a personal transfer from his recruiter when he was posted. He was originally posted in Japan and is now posted in Cameroon. He says he gets to come home for 3 months in August and this happens yearly.

This is what he told me: