Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Very confused and hurt

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Very confused and hurt

Advertisements
    This is my first time posting on here but I'm just looking for some advice or reassurance:

My boyfriend is in the marines and has been gone in Africa for 11 days now. We have been together for 6 months and back in february we had a rough patch but since march things have been improving and getting better. When he left things were great between us and we have been able to text here and there as he has no internet access where he is or service so its difficult but when we do communicate things seem fine its the "I miss you" texts and all of that. But yesterday I got an unexpected text that has had me stressing and heartbroken. He basically said He has had a lot of time to think about us and talk to friends and we need to have a serious talk when he gets home and he feels maybe we aren't compatible and we are dragging out the inevitable but then proceeded to text and say "I almost hope you didn't get my last two texts. Don't dwell on it please. I don't want you to hurt and all I want is for you and me to be happy." I feel while you are away this is not the time to text me a message like that but is it common for guys to doubt the relationship while away? We wont be able to talk on the phone for 2 weeks which is going to kill me but I'm just looking for advice if anyone else has experienced something like this
  2. Senior Member
    Honestly if you're going through rough patches in the first what, four months of dating somebody maybe you actually aren't compatible? Idk if I'd be trying to even save that.
  3. Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Honestly if you're going through rough patches in the first what, four months of dating somebody maybe you actually aren't compatible? Idk if I'd be trying to even save that.
    Agreed.
  4. Regular Member