Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: He's home, but we've drifted...

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

He's home, but we've drifted...

Advertisements
    Hey all, this is my first time posting on here, not sure what to do right now, just looking for some clarity and perspective.
    Back story: My boyfriend and I come from the same town, we vaguely knew each other in high school (he's 3 years older) but we didn't actually start talking until I was in college and he was a year into his first term in the Marine Corp. We began chatting on Facebook, we instantly connected and talked every night for a few months after that until one day he came home to visit his parents and to see me. We started dating from there and 2 months into the relationship he got deployed. His deployment lasted 9 months, and since our relationship was still new, our communication drastically changed from when we first started talking, which was hard given the lack of good communication during deployment. Overall, it was hard, but we made it.
    Fast forward, we've now been together almost 3 years. After his deployment we alternated trips to see each other, but towards the end of his 4 year term, he just got more and more distant. Little things irritated both of us but we stuck it out.
    He actually came home in January and has been on inactive reserve since then. He took a couple months off and began a new job a few weeks ago. Given that we only live a few streets away (he moved back with his parents, and I live with mine) we have been seeing each other almost every day.