Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 12 123411 ... LastLast

Thread: Should I Stay Or Should I Go?

1. Regular Member

Should I Stay Or Should I Go?

Advertisements
    My Marine is getting ready to go to Hawaii. He just found out last night and that is all the more info I've gotten. I called my mom and she immediately freaked out and started looking for a college for me to transfer to since I'm currently studying in Kentucky. My father and his parents seem less than enthusiastic. His mother texted me this morning and asked what our plans were since he's going so far. She told me it is something we need to talk about and to make sure we think about what that means long term and the future and that its a big decision and a big move and it needs to work for BOTH of us.
    I'm getting a very distinct vibe that she doesn't want me to move to follow her son which I can understand. She spent the first year of our relationship thinking I was using him.
    We're assuming he will leave for Hawaii once he graduates his MOS school in two weeks. I would finish my school year in Kentucky and then transfer to Hawaii at the beginning of the fall semester for 2014.
    The catch is my Marine and I have been seriously discussing getting engaged next time he's home (we've been talking about it for almost a year) and getting married this summer which would put me in Hawaii for school anyway but he said he understands if I don't want to move my life that far on such short notice. We're not sure how our parents would feel about this as we're still young (18 & 19) but we've been together for three and a half years.

So now I'm asking for advice, stay or go?

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by MrsB; 12-02-2013 at 05:29 PM.
  2. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel
    Quote Originally Posted by MrsB View Post