Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: First Deployment

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

First Deployment

Advertisements
    My SO will be graduating from West Point soon and heading to BOLC for four months. This will be the first small step in the many to come with distance and deployment. We've always been long distance, and it's never really been an issue and has never bothered me. A five hour drive can be soothing sometimes...right? After BOLC will be a last month of leave before his deployment. It's so far away, but maybe you all understand how it really feels so close. It's been hanging over my head, but he's so excited (he's even counting down) and I don't want to bring him down. I just don't know how to start coping, because I don't want to completely fall to pieces when he's gone. I've got nobody to talk to who would understand, so here I am. I'm a full time grad student, so its not like I'll be twiddling my thumbs with nothing to do. But its still, as I'm sure you understand, a very very distracting thing to think about. Not knowing if he's safe is the biggest thing, and I know "no news is good news" but my mind is all over the place and I don't want to stress myself.

Why are these men so easy to love!?

Please help me out with any advice you have, this is the first time I've posted on anything like this. I really appreciate it.

Thank you thank you!
  2. Senior Member
    It sounds like your in the right place. This is all normal to feel. Remember, its ok to cry sometimes. Its ok to break down. Just dont let sadness consume your life. Treat yourself. Find things to make you smile. Write your SO letters and send them packages. You can always PM me if youd like
  3. Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by WhereTheHeartIs View Post