Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: dating a retired vet with PTSD - advice please!

1. Old Newbie
    Old Newbie

dating a retired vet with PTSD - advice please!

Advertisements
    This is my first post in this forum and I am looking for help and advice....

I am new in a relationship with a retired Green Beret soldier who is 100% disabled with PTSD. Though I am a social worker and have some experience with vets & PTSD, this is the first time I have ever dated anyone in the military.

This is a whole new experience for me, as I am not even American, and know little about the American military from the inside.

What I do know is that this man is crazy about me and the feeling is mutual. He is scarred both physically and mentally, but is still a very caring, loving person.

Things are moving very fast in this relationship, and though I am fully on board, I feel I need to be the cautious one because of his psychological issues from war.

He is a decorated veteran and retired 2 years ago after 25 years in Special Forces. He has been to every war since 1988. Less than a year after he retired, his marriage fell apart and he was divorced. He has 2 young children from that marriage who live with their mother. I am separated for several years from my husband and also have 2 young children.

I think this man could be the great love of my life but we come from very different backgrounds (me being anti-war, liberal and not a fan of guns). So I need any and all advice you could give me.

What do I need to know about being in a relationship with a former soldier?
  2. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel
    Quote Originally Posted by songbird View Post
    This is my first post in this forum and I am looking for help and advice....