Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do I approach this nicely

1. Banned
    Banned

How do I approach this nicely

Advertisements
    Let me say before I begin that I am an extremely non-confrontational person and I have a problem with a fellow teacher and don't know how to bring it up to her in a nice way.

I teach 1st grade and this year, our school got another teacher who is next door to my classroom. Our classes are separated by an interior door. I am in my 2nd year of teaching, this lady has 30 years on me, and constantly butts into my business and tells me how to run my classroom, but whatever. That's not my problem. She is also very pushy and even though she just started at our school, she seems to think she has some kind of authority over me.

Anyway, as I said, our classroom are separated by an interior door, and she opens said door at least once between the start of school and recess, and between recess and lunch time, and tells me to watch her class so she can go out and smoke "real quick" Well, there is no "real quick" because smoking is not permitted on campus, so she has to walk off campus, and it takes a good 10 minutes for her to return. I am getting extremely tired of it. I have 26 kids in my class, she has 28, so for 20 or 30 minutes (depending how many breaks she chooses to take that day) a day, I have to watch a total of 54 kids. I could be in the middle of a spelling test and she barges in ("hey, I will be back, watch my kids, ok?")

I want to be able to tell her in a nice way that I can't watch her class, it's a liability issue. What if either one of mine or one of her kids get hurt while she's away? Heck, I sometimes have to pee really bad during class time and I just suck it up and wait until recess. I know smoking doesn't compare to potty breaks but this isn't fair to the kids either.