Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Army Deployments?

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Smile Army Deployments?

Advertisements
    I'm new to the military life and I'm really confused about how it works. I've been told that we're pulling out of Afganistan in 2014. If we are pulling out of there, where else can Army men be deployed? I heard that the only place we couldn't follow them was the Middle East. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
  2. Senior Member
    They can be sent pretty much anywhere... not just to warzones. My SO goes to other random countries for training purposes, he has been to multiple countries in Africa and Europe, just for training. I also know of people who have gotten unaccompanied tours to South Korea, so it really just varies. Do not set your expectations as being able to go everywhere with him, because you will be let down in a major way.

"May you never go to hell, but always be on your way."
  3. Senior Member
    We won't pull 100% out at that point. We might have a small contingent of troops there for decades.

As has been said, they can be sent anywhere. Are you married? If you aren't then there are lots of places you probably can't follow them (Japan comes to mind, and quit possibly Europe as well, because the average person can't just stay in Europe for as long as she wants). If you are married, they can still be sent on unaccompanied orders to lots of places, often because the orders are too short in length to qualify for a spouse to be sponsored.

Also, there is a difference between deployments and orders/being stationed somewhere. Orders are where he will be sent to live, and most of the time, a spouse can move and live with him. Deployments are when they are pulled from the place where they are stationed and they are sent to work somewhere else for a while. Spouses are never sent along on deployments.
    Science always wins over bullshit. ~Dick Rutkowski
  4. Old Newbie