Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Don't know what to do about School

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Don't know what to do about School

Advertisements
    Hello everyone. I am currently 4 months away from graduating with my LPN nursing license. The problem is, I've felt like I don't want to be a nurse any more. I don't feel like its for me and I truly don't enjoy my clinicals and doing procedures. The only thing keeping me going is the pay afterwards, and what my parents think, as they are paying for half of my school. My DB is joining the military soon, and he thinks that I should continue to finish school so we can have more money when we are married. He wants me to be happy, but he thinks it will be easier if once we get a first station, I work as a nurse for extra money. I planned on working still If I quit school, it just might be a minimum wage job till I find out what I want to do. My questions to y'all are, do you think financially it would be a bad decision to quit school? I would live at home for a little bit before anything to work and to pay off my half of the loans and save. And is it even practical to be a nurse as a military spouse? It's not what I want to do.

I just really don't know what to do. I know in my heart that I don't want to be a nurse anymore. It's just not for me. But logically I think it would be nice to have the money once I can work at our first station. Please, any advice or encouragement even would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!!
  2. Regular Member
    I'm not usually one to tell someone to quit school, but I also know that nursing is one of those jobs that if you're miserable doing it, all of your patients are going to be miserable around you. It's long hours and hard work, and to do that when you don't enjoy it is going to take a toll on you quickly.