Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Relocation, and frightened.

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

First Relocation, and frightened.

Advertisements
    Hello everyone,
    This is my first time speaking to anyone about this, but I really need some advice. My husband and I got married 8 months back, and coming from a military heavy family ( dad, grandfather, brother, all in the army) I wasnt expecting anything I couldnt handle. However, something has come up. We just bought our first home together, and live close to our relatives. Recently my husband has been very eager to change careers ( He is a security manager now, very unhappy with it.) He decided ( pretty much without consulting me) that he would apply for a job as a medical technician with the air force ( he has been in the air force for about 7 years now.) The training for said job has to take place at Lackland Air force Base in Texas. It requires full residency there for 12 months. He just got confirmation that the spot is his. Now, Iv never relocated anywhere in my life. Im having a very difficult time seeing his reasoning behind wanting to leave our beautiful BRAND new home and our relatives. I am trying to put on a strong front for him and always be supportive of his decisions, but honestly Im scared. I dont want to leave our new home, or our family and friends behind to move to a state Iv never been to, to a small apartment on base. Now, my wants aside, it is a fantastic opportunity for him. Am I being too dramatic? Am I being selfish? I feel like I am, which is why I havent said anything to him opposing the idea. I REALLY need some help dealing with this. It appears his mind is already made up, and Im trying to accept that. Can anyone give me some advice on how to handle the move? Maybe anyone from the texas area can tell me what its like living down there? I would love any success stories about relocating and what its like. I just rea