Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Buying vs. Leasing

1. Senior Member

Confused Buying vs. Leasing

Advertisements
    I have a 1996 Toyota Camry and just found out this morning that the catalytic convertor died. They said it would be about $600. Not to mention it needs new tires, plus the air conditioning is broken and must be fixed before I move down South in September. It has almost 200,000 miles on it and I'm wondering if it's worth it to fix it, if I should look into buying a used car (which I literally don't think I can afford considering I haven't worked in a year because of school), or leasing something with the option to buy.

My parents will be helping me (I would be literally without a car if it weren't for them! They are amazing!), but I was wondering if anyone has any input? I don't know what to do. I have no experience with this. I'm wondering if leasing with the option to buy is a good idea? Can anyone give me some insight??

I'm so lost...
    No more countdown! He's home!!

"We don't cry because we are weak, but because we have been strong for too long"
  2. Banned
    Banned
    DO NOT LEASE! the mileage restrictions are aweful, and the costs for going over are very high.

if your planning to drive to the new duty station, this alone can put a huge dent in your mileage allowance -
    also there are restrictions about taking it out of state, and where to return it ( a friend got permission to take her car from VA to Tx, but when it got close to the tme to take it back they had to return it in VA and had to pay to get to VA then fly back to TX where they were going to buy a new car) it costs them 3 grand out of pocket.

the ramsey rule is if the repairs do not exceed the value of the car to repair the one you have.
  3. Senior Member
    Thank you!! That's good to know! We would be moving during the leasing time, so you're right, that would put a huge dent in the mileage!