Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Child Support Issues

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Child Support Issues

Advertisements
    Hi, I'm new to all of this. I'm not an Army wife, but my child's father is currently in the Army. He recently left me for someone else leaving me alone to care for our 4 year old child. I'm also a full time college student majoring in BS nursing. I'm not asking for much for him, but just to provide a little support for his daughter. The thing is, when he enlisted, he never claimed that he has a child. Will this be a problem with the processing of child support. I tried to keep it as civil as possible not getting the "law" involved, but it seems like he isn't making any efforts in helping me support our child.

I recently filed for child support at state, but they told me that it usually take 3 months for the paper work to process. I mentioned that he was getting deployed soon and all they told me was that it's going to take longer because of his deployment. It's really hard finding support. A lot of people don't really care these days

He's even made threats at me telling me that he'll tell his mother to stop watching our child while I'm at school which would force me to drop out of the nursing program because no one will take care of our child. I'm not trying to bad mouth anyone, but since he's left, he hasn't once, spent time with our daughter. She's already starting to question his whereabouts and I have no idea what to tell her. I don't want her to have any anger towards him, but at the same time I don't want to lie to her.

I'm looking for any advice at all that will help assist me with this.

Thanks in advance....
  2. Old Newbie
    Old Newbie
    I'm sorry to hear about your relationship challenges. These situations are difficult for everybody involved. You sound like you are being pretty level headed, despite how much this all hurts. That is a good first step.