Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: A resilient career

1. Senior Member

A resilient career

Advertisements
    For starters, and I don't want to sound rude, but please do NOT post anything about mycaa or spouse career benefits unless asked for. I already have all the info on those programs.

Anyway! Currently I have a bachelors degree and work in child welfare as a social worker. I have a background in criminal justice and used to do paralegal and probation. My job is currently needed every where but the requirements per state for social work can verify and there are some states I cannot work in unless I have additional training.

Obviously, military life doesn't cater to the spouses career. So in everyone's experience what's the best career or company you've worked that was easy to move around with, say every 3 yrs (just as a what if). My SO is NG, but I am just generally curious on what type of resilient jobs spouses find, just for a little chit chat
  2. Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

I got into my career a couple years before DH left the military so I don't have a ton of experience with it ... but my company also hires lots of military spouses so I know a lot of people who make it work for them. Anyway I do banking and insurance (now I'm just on the insurance side but I did banking for years). It's nice because it's something that people already need. I'm licensed in all 50 states so we get really broad training; it's a little annoying moving my resident license but not terrible, the company does most of the paperwork anyway. Our company is great in that we can work from home, so if there is a PCS your job can follow you where you go.