Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Anybody here telecommute?

1. Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Anybody here telecommute?

Advertisements
    I'm considering telecommuting ... the office where I work at is closing and there aren't any locations near me.

I have two choices though, the company will pay for me to move to one of their regional offices, or I can telecommute and they'll set up an office in our home. Still in the process of making a decision but I've never worked from home before and was curious to hear experiences! I have no idea what to do and it's pretty overwhelming right now.
  2. Regular Member
    I work from home once a pay period...so once every other week. I think it works well if you're disciplined. For me, I'm more productive in the office because I have everything I need there. I have my personal printer, two large monitors, a clerk. At home I only have my laptop so it takes me a little longer to complete assignments, reports. I'm also a little distracted because of television. LOL!

So if you're disciplined and can stay focused, you'll be fine.
  3. Senior Member
    I work from home twice per week. I love the flexibility and not commuting on those two days, but I wouldn't want to work from home all five days. I crave human interaction too much. I get a ton done on my work from home days as there are no distractions and no one to speak with, but it makes me look forward to going to the office.
  4. Senior Member
    Agreed, I think it depends on what type of person you are. I wouldn't be able to work from home, the times I have tried were largely unproductive. There are too many distractions at home (dog, laundry, start dinner) and I need the dual monitors and printers to feel productive. Even in graduate school I drove to the office everyday.