Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Healthy Recipes

1. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel

Healthy Recipes

Advertisements
    DH and I have both realized we need a healthier lifestyle and to start eating better. I am not good at cooking healthy food (as in I'm bad about thinking things are "healthy" that aren't) so give me all your healthy recipes that are also tasty! Blogs etc that you like would also be great. I'm also really really bad with vegetables...there are only a few that I like (broccoli, green beans, corn and raw carrots lol) and a lot of leafy greens tend to give me gastrointestinal issues...so yea I know I need to work more in but I need to find some sort of balance because salad kills me.
  2. Senior Member
    Eating healthy isn't all that hard - it's getting in the healthy habit that's difficult. Preparing ahead of time is key - having the fridge stocked with fresh veggies and fruit certainly helps if you are starving and need to reach for something! I think once you cut out the processed foods and sugar you actually loose the cravings for them ( or at least in my case I did).

Eating lots of protein chicken, fish, lean beef) is just as important as the veggies. I use Mrs. Dash salt free seasonings on my chicken and then bake - simple! My Summer favorite as been grilled asparagus: drizzle fresh asparagus in light olive oil, add Mrs. Dash seasoning and grill. I'll add a touch of Parmesan cheese after it comes off the grill.

Flat out makes a great low carb/calorie wrap and lately I've been addicted to them at lunch time. Stuff it with tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce and a few slices of lunch meat ... yummo! I'll also drizzle a bit of dressing in there even though it does add calories.
  3. we were all rooting for you
    we were all rooting for you