Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: raising older dogs

1. Senior Member

raising older dogs

Advertisements
    My current 2 dogs are the first dogs I have owned in my adult lifetime. I literally knew nothing when we got them as pups. I totally became one of those people who invested in them like a crazy person, researching and obsessing. I feel like I have learned a lot about raising puppies and adult dogs. The adult dog stage seemingly lasts sooooooo long that you almost forget that they will someday grow old! That's where I'm at. My dogs just entered into that sort of middle aged stage. You know, like that 7 to 8 age range. I have no personal experience in raising senior dogs. I'm a little apprehensive! As of right now they seem just as they were at 2. The only thing that gives away their age is their graying little faces. To be clear, for those that maybe don't know me or whatever, I have owned these dogs since they were babies.

I keep hoping that things will just remain the same up until they die, with maybe just them slowing down a bit in their last year or 2 of life. How realistic is that though? I mean, I know that does happen. But is it more likely that they will develop some sort of illness rather than die uneventfully? I keep wondering what is in their future in the next 5 years or so (shit... that sounds so scary that that's likely all they'll have left ). Of course I think about the big things like cancer. Or seizures. And then I think about "smaller" things like vision problems or arthritis, or it progressing into near immobility or blindness. Right now they are still wrestling and bouncing around with ease.