Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Advice from Current or Past Dog Owners

1. Senior Member

Advice from Current or Past Dog Owners

Advertisements
    My husband and I are thinking about adopting a puppy. We're not sure whether or not we are ready, so I wanted to ask advice from people who have adopted dogs and kept them or adopted them and had it not work out.

Our situation is that I am currently a student and have a pretty flexible schedule. My husband, Rob, works pretty much business hours with a few random exceptions. We are still working on buying a house and we are looking in an area where we have friends who are actually adopting a dog from the same litter we are considering.

Our big issue is whether *now* is the time. My schedule is currently very flexible, so I can be home quite a bit to train the puppy and spend time with him. I am going to have to start working probably next fall, but I think I could get the puppy off to a good start (he'd be about a year old) before I start working. Our friends who are adopting one of the other puppies have kids who we could hire to help with dog walking/playing responsibilities during the day.

What have your experiences been? How much responsibility is it really? Is it worth it? How did your life change after getting a dog? If you had it to do over again, would you?

I think the amount of responsibility seems very daunting to us and we're trying to figure out whether it's always going to seem overwhelming, or whether there's going to be some magical time when everything clicks and *that* is the time. Or, if we wait for that perfect time, does that time never come?

Any advice welcome! Thank you!!
  2. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    I don't think now is a bad time...you have the flexibility to train it and you will be able to ease him into the transition of both of you being gone at certain hours of the day. Do you know what kind you might get?