Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: PCSing to Quantico by 11/30 help!

1. Regular Member

Help PCSing to Quantico by 11/30 help!

Advertisements
    So after deciding to get out, we got new orders and took them to PCS from Pendleton to Quantico!!
    We're from NY so we're closer to home! OMG....

I know nothing about the area, and we have to be there by the end of Nov. I am waiting for the gunny to get me a hard copy of his orders until he gets back from training. (They are trying to get him out of the field.) i did not know it would be that big of an issue for him to get back here to start his papers, TMO, finance, unit diary, etc....

Aanyways...We have to get TMO done, moving arrangements, and find housing. We live off base here, and want to live off base in VA.

I am a medical device company administrator (grants) and I am on the job hunt now. I just gave them my notice today (:sad)

If anyone knows the towns in the area off base to look, any jobs/companies to look into would be great. Is the traffic as bad as it is here in San Diego area? Cost of living,etc? i know the BAH is $300 less at Quantico, is that realistic?

TIA all!!
    I'm Sue!
  2. just call me Brando
    just call me Brando
    The ONLY reason I hated living in Quantico was because of the traffic! I used to work at a school that was 3 miles from where I lived and it would sometimes take me over and hour to get there. It was ridiculous! But if you're used to the San Diego traffic, it might not be such a shock to you.

I would literally plan out my day and errands around when I thought traffic would be minimal. Although there really isn't any rhyme or reason to the traffic there.

As far as the area, it's really pretty around there, there is a lot to do if you don't mind traveling north towards DC and such. But then again, you have to factor in the traffic!