Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: CAPE COD / Hanscom

1. Senior Member

Screwy CAPE COD / Hanscom

Advertisements
    Hi ladies!
    I'm still new to this site, so I'm not sure if I'm even posting in the right area, figured I'd give it a try though.
    My BF is in the Airforce and will be stationed at the Hanscom base in MASS. sometime in April. Does anybody live there that can tell me about the area? About housing? Cost of living in the area? I've heard horror stories about the place being really ritzy and money-crazed. That scares the crap out of me, 'cause I'm just a small town girl working my way through life! If anybody has any, ANY, info, I would love to hear it!! I'm new to the military too, so there's alot I don't know...
    Thanks in advance!!!
  2. Beltway Bandit
    Beltway Bandit
    Blog Entries
    I grew up in Mass. and the cost of living stories are not a myth, they're really really high. If you're worried your best best is to move as far west from Boston as possible. Hanscom isn't on the Cape, but there is a Coast Guard base on the Cape. Hanscom is probably a one to 1.5 hour drive to the base of the Cape and then it's another hour to the tip.
  3. I was a GREAT mom... until I had kids.
    I was a GREAT mom... until I had kids.
    Blog Entries
    Money. MA is all about money honestly. It is overly expensive and esp for the Cape. And while you'll be there BEFORE the season starts, it gets more pricey from may-september. i've lived in mass my entire life.

4. LUVMYCAPT