Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi newbie here with base housing question in Hampton Roads.

1. Aisysmom

Smile Hi newbie here with base housing question in Hampton Roads.

Advertisements
    Hello everyone! My name is Sandi, and my DH is Tony, and he just celebrated his tenth anniversary in the Navy. We have two kids, Aislinn (7) and Jonny (3)

Here's our dilemma.

We've never lived on base housing. We lived in Great Lakes for almost two years, and in Virginia for four. We currently live in St. Louis Mo while DH does recruiting (Fyi, don't ever do recruiting, it will have you longing for deployments... seriously) and we live in Government lease housing. Which is basically a privately owned home, where the government pays all bills. Kind of like base housing when there is no base housing around. All the other places we rented apartments.

I am a stay at home mom, and really don't want to have to get a job to make ends meet, so we decided to stay on base housing when we move BACK to VA in November. Tony will be stationed at Little Creek Amphib base, and our plan was to try to get in there for base housing. I was told today, that the wait for that place with children is 3-6 months, BUT if we were flexible about where we wanted to stay, we would more than likely be able to get in somewhere else immediatley. Our options right now seem to be Willoughby Bay and Queens way? Something with Queens in it.

Now, I know how it works. Virginia Beach is the "nice" area and Norfolk is like Va Beach's cracked out older sister. We lived in Norfolk before, and never felt out of place or uncomfortable, but now that we have kids, our main concern is schools and safety.