Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Michigan, anyone?

1. Regular Member

Michigan, anyone?

Advertisements
    Hi all,

I was hoping to find some people from Michigan to talk to and (hopefully) make friends with. I live in Harbor Beach which is this extremely small town (like there is no grocery store small) where the majority of the population is seniors and school aged children. I'm a teacher and I've been here for almost 2 years now. The people in my life are pretty much a 2 hr drive (minimum), so it's hard to see people. I consider myself a fairly independent person but this town is really starting to get to me almost 2 years in lol. I joined the one and only gym in town but there is definitely nobody my age there. I'm 24 years old and the only other person around my age is the one teacher at my school (she's 28)....other than that, good luck.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone is in my situation or if there are other MI folks that would like someone to chat with. I'm pretty easy to chat with. I have 2 kitties, like to read, am forcing myself to try and run so I can do a 5K, among other things lol. So if anyone is in the mood to chat, please send me a PM or reply here.
  2. Ummmmm...........
    Ummmmm...........
    Blog Entries

Unfortunately, I don't live in Michigan but I am from there. Born and raised. I'm from just south of Flint. Never heard of Harbor Beach, though.
  3. Senior Member
    If you live in Harbor Beach you are close to me. I live close to Marlette.
  4. Regular Member
    Not a lot of people have haha. It's right up in the tip of the thumb....around Bad Axe. That's where I have to grocery shop at. My family lives around Lapeer, so I have been to Flint many times. I would venture up to the Courtland Center and shop when I was a teenager.

I can definitely do laps around Harbor Beach on my bike lol. It has been a huge culture shock going from college to this, that's for sure.