Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Seeking Advice

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Seeking Advice

Advertisements
    Hi, I am new to this but I hope talking to other people will help me.

My boyfriend and I have been together for almost 2 years but he has been in the military for longer than that. Recently, I have started to feel very alone. We live in the same state but a couple of hours away from each other so we only get together once every few months usually when he gets time off for a holiday. We do not talk as much anymore because he is on OPs and busy with work. The last two times we have been together, he has been so tired that when he sees the bed, he crashes. We do normal couple things when we are together such as go to the movies but that's about it. I usually miss him alot but it has gotten worse since we have found out he is getting deployed in a couple of months. I feel like I have to spend as much time with him as I can before he leaves. It doesn't help that he is excited about the deployment and says it will be good for us but I don't see it. He also wants to enlist again which might mean him getting another PCS.
    I feel like he is so focused on his life and plans in the military that he is sort of forgetting about building a life together. I feel as though even when he is with me that he's not there at all. He says all of this is for us but I tell him I don't care about the extra money, I just want him home with me. I want to move in together, get married, and eventually start a family but it seems like our plans don't match because all of his plans involve being away from me. I do not know what to do at this point. I am not sure if I am overreacting and being selfish or if my feelings are actually justified. I want him to enjoy his time in the military and I don't want my feelings to get in the way of that. What should I do?
  2. "...now do Classical Gas"
    "...now do Classical Gas"