Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Here we go...

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Here we go...

Advertisements
    Hi ya'll,
    I guess I'm not technically a newbie and have lurked the site a few times on and off and finally decided it's time to participate and introduce myself. My hubby is in the Air Force and recently left for deployment. This isn't our first separation, but it's the first time for the "D" word and the first time I've been left on my own without running to family for support. We have 2 boys and they are just at the age now that I refuse to make them pack up their lives every time their dad leaves. I am prior Air Force and right now I'm trying to hold down the fort while I also go to school full time as a pre-med student. It hasn't been an easy go. I don't feel like the base(or maybe just his unit) where we are located has adequate support for deployed spouses. I'm completely alone, I haven't once heard from any of our key spouses and I'm honestly going insane without any sort of support system. There were a lot of promises made before he left that haven't been followed through on. I hope by participating in this forum I can at least find some people to talk to about this that know what this feels like. That's the gist of it right now and I hope I can get to know some of you well.
  2. The name says it all!
    The name says it all!

Welcome to the forum! I understand where you're coming from where the "no support" is concerned. Dh was with a command on the opposite end of the continent from us and it wasn't easy. I can only imagine how it is going to school full time and having all that going on. There are some awesome people on this site. I hope you find the support you're looking for here!

DH: Thank you. ME: For what, babe? DH: For being you.

3. Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by yourinkyness View Post
    Hi ya'll,