Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Engaged to the USAF

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Engaged to the USAF

Advertisements
    Hey there everyone! I'm EJ, I'm almost 21 years old, and I'm definitely head-over-heels in love with my Air Force man. By the way, he and I are a Tinder success story, so there's that.

I'm fairly new to the whole military lifestyle, and am diving head first into everything. For starters, my fiancé and I only got engaged about a week ago (oh yeah, so happy), and he and I have been together for over a year now. So, here's what going on... He is stationed in Korea, currently on leave for just a few more days back here in the states, and he has another almost six months to go out there. Immediately after, he's getting stationed to RAF Lakenheath, in England. So he and I are going to elope when he takes a VERY short leave between Korea and England (maybe 10 days), and then he's off. I plan on following him over there once I get my medical checks finished. What would be some major concerns about getting those checks done? Like, what would keep me from being unable to pass the medical exams?

As for my personal life, I ride and train horses for a living, so moving to a new country that doesn't really specialize in what I've been doing my whole life (I ride western, they ride english) is kind of freaking me out a little bit. I really want to continue my education and experience with horses, I just don't know how I'm going to be able to do that out there. It's just all so different in England, so if any horse people have any tips for me, that would be awesome. I'm more than willing to work retail or something, but I prefer being able to get my hands a little muddy.