Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Am I doing enough?

1. Account Closed
    Account Closed

Am I doing enough?

Advertisements
    I know I'm asking a billion questions, but I'm new at this and completely on my own so pleeeease bear with me these next few months

Teddy will be 7 weeks old on Monday I worry that I'm not doing enough with him. He still naps a LOT. Like a lot a lot. If I see him yawn, I'll put him down for a nap so he doesn't get overtired. He naps after every bottle, just about, and he eats 3-4 hours apart...mostly 3 hours apart. Sometimes it's more like 2.5 hours. He's sleeping REALLY well at night now, though, so I figure I must be doing something right.

However, I worry that I'm not stimulating him enough. We do the tummy time mat sometimes, but he gets most of his tummy time on my chest. He has great head control, too, but I still worry it's not enough. I lay him on his activity mat and he'll be entertained for a grand total of ten minutes...tops. He's still too tiny for other toys. I'll hold him and coo at him, but I don't want to overdo that and have him dependent on being held to be happy. Obviously other times he's active would be bathtime (every other day, once in a while every two days if he's keeping clean), diaper changes, and like 20% of his feedings because he enjoys falling asleep on the bottle (while still actively drinking, the little multitasker). Am I doing enough for him? I'm still healing up...my c-section scar is good and I'm officially cleared for physical activity but I blew my knees out getting in and out of the glider incorrectly while holding him. They're still pretty roughed up, but getting better...but it's hard.