Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bfing question

1. Senior Member

bfing question

Advertisements
    so i'm totally new at bfing , since Owen was so early and my boobies hated pumping/my milk dried up no matter what i did with pumping with him.

so i have a bfing question . how do i know when he is hungrey and when he isnt?

see i bf him and he eats , falls asleep , i switch sides/wake him him. he nurses again and goes back to sleep... then when i lay him down he gets fussy...

so is he still hungrey? or just didnt want me to put him down?

or sometimes when i fed him he eats falls asleep switch falls asleep then is wide awake...

how do i tell if he is still hungrey?

i know its rare that moms dont make enough for thier kiddos - how can i tell if i am or not ? in the NICU they had to sub some formula when i couldn't get my pumped milk to them... so i know he has had a few bottles ... and even now at night he sometimes does ....

the other morning when DH had him (i was in class) he ate 3 oz of breast milk and then took 2 of formula (dh didnt have anymore breastmilk)... but everytime i pump i cant get more than 1oz out of each side...
    Due March 19 2009 born at 31w6d,54 day NICU stay(home march 11th w/o anything),4 days on vent,40ish days on O2 after that
    Due March 11 2012 born at 35w 1 d, 11 day NICU stay(home Feb 17 with O2 ),27 days on Oxygen
  2. MilitarySOS Jewel
    MilitarySOS Jewel
    Is he in deep sleep or still having eye movement and stuff?

If he's taking the boob when he fusses, he's probably hungry (or just wants boobie comfort). If he doesn't want it he will continue to fuss and turn away from the breast.

Sounds to me like he just wants to nurse himself to sleep, which is totally normally. They get so comfy and relaxed nursing that they take a little snooze.

That's my take on it. Some kids are just snackers, they like to have small frequent feedings.