Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Forceful letdown/reflux ?

1. Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Forceful letdown/reflux ?

Advertisements
    Ok I am not asking for medical advie

I will try and not have this come off as confusing... I think DD may have reflux, but as I was reading on kellymom.com I think that it may be caused by my forceful letdown. She constantly pulls off during letdown or gulps/gasps for air. She pulls off a lot while nursing and spits up a lot. She is super gassy and she just randomly screams out of no where. She has now converted from sleeping good with us to sleeping much better in her bouncy seat where she is slightly inclined.

I am no doctor but all the symptoms of uncomplicated reflux are things she has/does and it says it can be cause by forceful letdown which are also all things that I have or she has. The other day I was nursing on one side and during the letdown I put a bottle up to the other side to see how much I got and I got a 1/2 ounce out in about 2 minutes without putting any pressure on my nipple or breast.

This one site says to cut out dairy but how can that be good for me to not have any milk or anything? I dont want her to be in pain and puking all the time. Because as soon as she pukes she wants to eat again and its very tireing. I also cant carry her around all day long and aparently I am RS dumb because even with videos I cant get her into the cradle carry..lol. HELP!!!
  2. Senior Member
    There is a really good web site that has good information on reflux and breast feeding . I think it is infant reflux.org . I used to go on there forums all the time because I was having problems with my son last year.
  3. Senior Member
    I'm no doctor, but my DD had GERD (what you're describing). These are some common symptoms:

Projectile vomiting
    Excessive spitting-up
    Screaming and/or crying during and after feedings
    Painful and excessive gas
    Arching of the back