Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: breaking housing lease

1. Senior Member

breaking housing lease

Advertisements
    So my husband is up for new orders and he asked me just now if we could break the lease with housing if we find a place to live?

So we would move to our new duty station take housing until we find a house out in town. I know it can be done since we see sailors do it often here at our current duty station the question I have is how do you go about that or more like how is it dealt with generally?

We have always lived on the economy and this time we might not be able to find a place to live in the exact area we want if we get that duty station.
  2. Senior Member
    I have no experience with how your lease for on-base housing would be structured... but the SCRA (military clause) wouldn't necessarily apply in the situation because you would have already PCS'ed to the area. My thought is have the conversation with housing and see their thoughts, maybe some type of temporary housing or short-term lease would work until you find somewhere permanent you want to live.
  3. Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Margot31 View Post
    So my husband is up for new orders and he asked me just now if we could break the lease with housing if we find a place to live?

So we would move to our new duty station take housing until we find a house out in town. I know it can be done since we see sailors do it often here at our current duty station the question I have is how do you go about that or more like how is it dealt with generally?

We have always lived on the economy and this time we might not be able to find a place to live in the exact area we want if we get that duty station.
    Definitely call housing when they open tomorrow.