Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: PCSing with a HORSE??

  1. Alice Bluebonnet
    boston0721's Avatar
    boston0721 is offline
    Alice Bluebonnet
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Fort Riley, Kansas
    Posts
    73
    #1

    PCSing with a HORSE??

    Advertisements
    Okay, this may seem an odd question for some, but I've had horses my whole life. Now that I'm "married to the Army" it seems pretty impossible. My DH says that as long as he's in, we can't have horses because of having to PCS.... I think this is kind of silly, because I just met an Army wife Thursday who has horses, and I know a Sgt's wife who also has them.

    My question is, when it comes to PCS'ing, what kind of options would there be for moving my horse? What if we go Hawaii? Growing up my mom switched from active AF to ANG, so we didn't have the trouble of PCS moves, so we never had to move with our horses....

    Has anyone experienced this? I don't want to have to give up my passion for the next 6 years. And I know you're going to say "volunteer, get a job with horses, etc", trust me, I've tried....still trying. But that's also not what I'm asking Thank you for ANY insights!!!
  2. Senior Member
    ~Laura~'s Avatar
    ~Laura~ is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,303
    #2
    I have never PCSed with my horse (J and I arent married) but I do know people who make it work, Hawaii and oconus may be less likely due to animal quarantine requirements, but for conus info have you checked out MilitaryStables.com ?

  3. Alice Bluebonnet
    boston0721's Avatar
    boston0721 is offline
    Alice Bluebonnet
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Fort Riley, Kansas
    Posts
    73
    #3
    Hey thanks Laura, that site has some great info.
  4. You are here.
    Frybread's Avatar
    Frybread is offline
    You are here.
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    23,977
    #4
    You may have to pay for it out of pocket and figure out how to do it. You're best bet is to call personal property.
  5. Lima Oscar Victor Echo
    Cav_Scout_Wife's Avatar
    Cav_Scout_Wife is offline
    Lima Oscar Victor Echo
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    606
    #5
    I don't know about PCSing with horses but i do know that a lot of bases have stables either on base, or right off of base for you to use. Dont know how much they charge or whatnot though. Good luck!
  6. Senior Member
    Judi89's Avatar
    Judi89 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    30,839
    #6
    I wish I had a horse



    "If we ever forget that we're one nation under God, then we will be a nation gone under." - President Ronald Reagan
  7. Alice Bluebonnet
    boston0721's Avatar
    boston0721 is offline
    Alice Bluebonnet
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Fort Riley, Kansas
    Posts
    73
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Judi View Post
    I wish I had a horse
    LOL, me too... that's why I'm trying to figure out the specifics

    I actually had to sell my horse before I met my DH... it was really depressing. I'm hoping we can work something out so that we'll be able to get one in the near future.
  8. Senior Member
    akayed's Avatar
    akayed is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Im in Texas and He is in Germany
    Posts
    1,815
    #8
    I had to sell mine before we pcs but there are usually bording around and if not on post as long as you are staying on the mainland the horse can go with you.
  9. Banned
    gunsgirl's Avatar
    gunsgirl is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    17,275
    #9
    you can have horses, jsut as we can have dogs and cats and such.
    however the costs to transport them will be 100% out of pocket.
    the military will only reimburse 550 dollars for overseas quarentine costs.
  10. Senior Member
    Southern-queen's Avatar
    Southern-queen is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35,924
    #10
    You can at least stateside you just have to pay to move them. I am not sure how it works exactly as in if it counts towards weight or what not, but you would just have to have the trailer to move them etc. But I know you can move with them. That is why many (at least AF wise that I know of) installations have stables.

    Overseas is what I don't know for sure.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •