Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Fort Lee, VA

1. Bishes be crazay.
    Bishes be crazay.

Question Fort Lee, VA

Advertisements
    Anyone live there or has lived there? Just wanted to get a few opinions on the base housing and local schools, CDC and things like that.

(I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum for this kind of thing but I couldn't find a more appropriate place to put it. I swear there used to be a section just to talk about other bases and I can't seem to find it.)

Thanks in advance for any input.

2. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    Blog Entries
    Fort Lee is near Petersburg. They are, quite frankly, the worst schools in the state. I am a public school teacher, I believe strongly in the public schools in this country and overall I think the Virginia Public School System is one of the better ones in the country. If I had to live in Petersburg, I would seriously consider placing my children in private schools.

That being said, there are some very, VERY cool homes in P'burg. It's an old, old town, one of the railroad stops for Civil War troop replenishment. Lots of very cool history, both Revolutionary War and Civil War. I would probably look fo housing to the west of town, out Route 460 if I was thinking of buying.

In Virginia, you can look at schools' report cards and get info on test pass rates, school safety, etc. http://www.petersburg.k12.va.us/ Being stationed there isn't an educational death sentence, you just have to do your own homework to make sure you live in an area where the schools will be suitable. Let me know if there's any specific information you'd like.
  3. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    I fully agree with eelo on this

Ft Lee is a great base with so many options of places to live, things to do and so on.