Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Leaving the nest.

1. Not even the Army can shatter my spirit.
    Not even the Army can shatter my spirit.
    Blog Entries

Question Leaving the nest.

Advertisements
    I know there is a similar saying when you leave your parent's home, but I can't remember it. Does the following happen to anyone else though?

I'm 25, going to be 26 in a couple of months, I'm married, I graduated college, worked in the field of my career for about 6 years, and have lived on my own for a year before I started dating DH. So, basically, to an outsider looking in, I pretty much have everything together and can probably do a great job living on my own.

But you know what? I've still been thinking about what my parents will say when they find out if we choose to get a dog in Italy. Or what they will say if I accidentally damage my car over there. Even what they will say if they find out we're going on a vacation and its not to their home in CA. So yes, I'm worried about "getting in trouble" essentially. I think it's silly, but does anyone else remember going through similar feelings or situations? What did/do you do?
  2. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    It happened to me quite often when I first moved out here. Like I was scared to tell my mom I got cats because she hates cats and was nervous going to a midnight movie with DH. Eventually I just stopped thinking about what my mom would think. Although I was petrified to tell her I'm joining the Army.
  3. Senior Member
    YES! all the flippin time. i value my dads opinion a lot and many of my decisions have me thinking "whats dad gonna say...". its ridiculous but i think if you have a really close relationship with your parents youll always wonder what theyll think. prolly a good thing in the long run
    no one will know me now because my siggy is gone
    "The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step, and a lot of bitching."-Unknown
    hes home