Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: maybe this will be a better place to ask...

1. Old Newbie
    Old Newbie

maybe this will be a better place to ask...

Advertisements
    Im relatively new to the army way of life and completely ignorant on this subject so here goes and TIA ladies!

DB was stationed at Ft Bragg and is currently deployed. We have talked about getting married and all that good stuff when he gets home because he was getting out of the army shortly after BUT he got offered a position in Germany and decided to take it. We’ve decided to stay together, even though we both know its going to be hard as hell, but if we make it through this, well, I think we’ll be good to go. Heres where the problem starts… as much as I would love to and be willing to pack up and move with him, im going to college and will be there for the next 4 years, which is how long he’ll be in Germany and if I dropped college to run off with a soldier, my dad would flip his sh*t. And yes, I know in the back of my head getting the degree is the smart, rational thing to do, so that’s what I have to do. So my question is… how often will he be able to come back and see me or will he be able to at all? I know I’ll be able to go see him but is there a possibility that I could live with him during the summers when I am out of school? I don’t know anything about base housing.