Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to this whole thing... need some help!

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Help New to this whole thing... need some help!

Advertisements
    hello there,

I am new to this whole thing. My hubby is already on base in Yuma, AZ. We are waiting for housing to give us the house. We are staying on base. How does the whole moving company thing work? They came to your home and pack everything?... how long does it take to get to the new location? What will happen if I get there before my stuff?
  2. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    Blog Entries
    The government will contract with a moving company to get your Household Goods. Your husband will need to initiate that process, but assuming he's already listed as having a family, they should be telling him what he needs to do (go to the HHG office, make an appt, etc).

If you and the HHG are someplace separate from him right ow (as in, maybe he's coming from training?), then he needs to give you Power of Attorney and he needs to cntact the HHG office on his base so they can tell you what you need to do.

the move itself is easy- whichever moving company is contracted will send someone out to estimate size/weight of your HHG. The movers do everything; you don't have to pack anything (in fact, you shouldn't pack anything). They'll set up a date to move your things; it could be a one-day or a two-day operation. When the HHG shipment gets to Yuma, you'll be notified by the HHG office on base to make an appointment for delivery. It could take a week, it could take a month for delivery.

There is also an option to do an Express Shipment of the things you'll absolutely need, but the weight on that is very limited. Before committing to an Express Shipment, find out if there is a Lending Closet on the base for you to borrow kitchen supplies, a few pieces of furniture, maybe a TV, etc.
  3. Banned
    Banned