Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Movers

1. mermom

Question Movers

Advertisements
    We're PCS'ing in a few weeks and doing a partial DITY move. We have to be at our new duty station the day before the movers are scheduled to pick up our stuff. We will have someone overseeing the movers when they come, but I have a question about protocal.

Do I need to pack the stuff up before the movers come, or do they actually box everything up?
    I know that's probably a basic question, but well I've never used a moving company before, and they haven't returned my calls.

TIA
  2. Beccalynne21
    I wish I knew that answer. I was told NOT to pack anything that they inventory everything and pack it up. They came this morning and looked around and said they had to reschedule. I told them we were leavign for California tomorrow, she said nothing is organized. I have all bathrooms, bedrooms, all closets cleaned out. All that needed to be done was put everything on the moving truck.

Oh yea, these guys didnt have boxes and it was an old woman and an old man, one guy in his 40's to move a family of 6. So ummm I dont know how they thought they were going to do it all alone and no boxes. She told me I needed to have everything inventoried and organized.,..she couldnt elaborate on this. But just another hellish milestone in this MFH - Move From Hell. From what Ive been told, the first PCS move is a nightmare for most...because we dont know what to do and no one takes the time to help out or tell us what to do. You can ask all you want if your lucky enought to get someone in the office. But here in KY, they have Fridays off.

Hubbi is having pains in his chest from all this..after all I quit my job for this move and after tomorrow we have to be gone ...out of the house..
    Quote Originally Posted by mermom View Post