Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Marine Security Guard Girlfriend??

1. Old Newbie
    Old Newbie

Confused Marine Security Guard Girlfriend??

Advertisements
    Hello. My name is Amanda and I am new here. It's so great to see a community like this. Seems like a great place and a very necessary resource. I need some help so thanks in advance to any of you who can offer any advice.

I am new to the military SO world. I began dating my Marine 6 months ago and he is without a doubt the love of my life. I wasn't even sure I believed in "soul mates" until I found him. We are happy beyond words together. The only problems we have revolve around his job. Adjusting to being with a Marine (unpredictable schedule, late nights, early mornings, field ops away from home, not being able to take leave, being on call all the time, tons of stress and demands on him so he's always exhausted, etc) has been tougher than I thought. I already have a career established within the DoD so I work with service members every day and I get the lifestyle. Even still, it took me a while to get used to everything. The USMC always comes before me. Despite it all, he is absolutely worth it. I am even prepared to deal with long deployments away or following him to move around the world as a Marine spouse eventually. Just trying to paint a picture for you that we are pretty serious and that, like many of you, I would sacrifice just about anything for my military partner.