Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com

Thread: Question on promoting to E-7

1. Senior Member

Question on promoting to E-7

Advertisements
    So hubby is deployed and I have zero experience w/ how the Army promotes. He was in the national guard till a year and a half ago so all other promotions were with them. Anyway, he is submitting his packet for E-7.. and I know he is supposed to have a picture of him in his class A's, but since he is down range he can't. He said he just submits a waiver for that. So my question is what exactly are they looking for since they are just looking at the packet? Do you think not having a photo will hurt him? Do they even look inside if you don't have a photo? Just trying to figure out what the chances are he can get promoted. I think he'd have a good shot if he was here and had the full thing done like it should be, but then I don't know what they are looking for. Anyone been through this recently with a spouse?
    Trish & Hubby Home for R&R!! Dec. 2009
  2. Account Closed
    Account Closed
    I am not sure that his DA photo will make or break him promotion wise. If he is squared away then he should be good to go. The DA photo basically shows how they look, carry themselves, and put their uniform together. It just shows how they present themselves, beyond the paper. I wouldn't be too concerned about the photo.
  3. Senior Member
    okay. thanks cause a wife here had told me they look at the photo first and if you don't look the part they put you in the No pile without even looking inside. My DH is VERY squared away. 300 on all his PT tests, extra schools, correspondence courses.. ect. Just thinking gosh what if they don't even look inside? I hope this isn't the case. He never really offers me much either.. just says he'll be lucky if he gets it, but he is so humble it is hard to tell what he means by that. LOL
  4. there is no place like home
    there is no place like home