Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Officer/enlisted rules?

1. MissingTommy

Question Officer/enlisted rules?

Advertisements
    Question! I'll be done with law school in May, and I'm seriously considering serving as a JAG officer. Thinking it would be a million times easier for DB and I go spend more of our lives together (after marriage of course) and it's something I've been considering for about 4 years (since pre-DB days).

My issue is... that would make me an officer and he's enlisted (~9 years ago). Anyone know the rules surrounding this? I have interviews with both the Navy JAG and AF JAG coming up and I know I can ask them... but I was just hoping for some insight ahead of time!

I had no idea where to put this... so I'm sorry if it's in the wrong place!
  2. Senior Member

I knew of a few couples married that were enlisted/officer but usually they were married before it. One couple were both enlisted then the husband became an officer and they could never be in the same command as far as I know... things may have changed. It's best to ask the source but I know it's been done, just not sure exactly all the rules. It's a huge no no for enlisted and officers in the same command and chain of command to date or even hang out like buddies. If it's a party or a command fuction it's okay to hang out.
  3. I can work the google on the internet machine!
    I can work the google on the internet machine!
    Dh said there are no rules on it as long as y'all are not in the same command! But to get the spefics I would ask!
    Control is an illusion, you infantile egomaniac. Nobody knows what's gonna happen next: not on a freeway, not in an airplane, not inside our own bodies and certainly not on a racetrack with 40 other infantile egomaniacs.- Days of Thunder(Nicole Kidman)
  4. I'm Awesome
    I'm Awesome