Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Being an Officer's Wife

1. Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Being an Officer's Wife

Advertisements
    Is it true that the wife is an essential part in the husband (Officer's) success? I've heard it from a few places. Does that mean single guys have hard time getting promotions? Or that a divorce can ruin a career?

My fiance will be an officer soon, and these warnings are starting to freak me out. I'm not very good at keeping in touch or making connections, or "securing" anything ... not even dinner! I mean what I am I meant to expect or do, or am I just working myself up?

2. Senior Member
    Blog Entries
    ]Is it true that the wife is an essential part in the husband (Officer's) success? I've heard it from a few places. As an "O" wife I believe I am ONLY essential because of my support and love, as ANY wife is.

Does that mean single guys have hard time getting promotions? Or that a divorce can ruin a career? No. In fact most of the CO's of the ships that my DH has been on were single. Your relationship status has NOTHING to do with your promotions as an officer. The same goes for divorce.

My fiance will be an officer soon, and these warnings are starting to freak me out. I'm not very good at keeping in touch or making connections, or "securing" anything ... not even dinner! I mean what I am I meant to expect or do, or am I just working myself up? take a deep breath. Officers put their pants on just like EVERYONE else. My philosophy has always been that I am no better or no worse than ANY other wife enlisted or officer. You responsibility is to love your husband and to support him in any way you can. But all wives do this. Just conduct yourself with grace and dignity. I would expect that from any person, that you give as much respect as you want to receive in return. . Who is telling your these things? or giving you warnings?