Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Separation and BAH

1. Fresh Newbie
    Fresh Newbie

Separation and BAH

Advertisements
    Good afternoon,

I really need some help. My wife is in the Navy and to make a long story short (because the things she has done and things she has done that isn't legal...is a long list) she gets a BAH of $1400. Since we have been married which hasn't been long (less then six months) she has only helped out with housing amount of $1400. That is besides the point, I travel for a living and whenever I come home she leaves and goes out partying never is with me or speaks to me or even sleeps in the same room as me. I have asked for a separation from her and finally had her sign an agreement. When I had the agreement wrote up through the internet (I know I should have had a lawyer look at it first) In the state of Virginia, she has to be off the lease and out of the house until the separation starts and six months after to get a divorce. The rent for the house is $1700. I know she is required to either give me half of her BAH or 1/3 of her gross pay. I have only asked her for $700 of her BAH which she does not want to give me (it isn't even her money to begin with, it is the Navy's..and I have told her that but she wants to take advantage of the Navy's money.) The problem is that in the agreement to protect myself I had a clause in place which states,

11. SPOUSAL SUPPORT/ALIMONY. The parties agree that neither shall receive
    spousal support from the other and each waives and releases any and all claim
    against the other for spousal support, maintenance or alimony. The parties further
    agree the Court will not retain jurisdiction of the matter of spousal support,
    maintenance or alimony and this waiver, once incorporated in a final decree of
    divorce, terminates any and all rights each party may have held to such support.