Military Significant Others and Spouse Support - MilitarySOS.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tricare now that I've moved?

  1. Senior Member
    Heisenberg's Avatar
    Heisenberg is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    16,413
    #1

    Tricare now that I've moved?

    Advertisements
    I'm on tricare prime right now. I never called tricare when I moved back to Florida from Hawaii, I need to, right?

    If I'm going to civilian doctors, is standard better than prime? What is the difference?

    I know literally nothing about this and my husband isn't helping lol. TIA
  2. In vino veritas
    Dr.VinoVet's Avatar
    Dr.VinoVet is offline
    In vino veritas
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14,852
    #2
    I dont live near base and I have prime. I had to call tricare to have them tell me what doctors were in my network or which ones to go to.
  3. Banned
    gunsgirl's Avatar
    gunsgirl is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    17,275
    #3
    you do need to change regions, if you moved someplace where there is an MTF you will be assigned to Prime and will be required to use the MTF unless there is no space avail.

    you can go standard and be able to see anyone you want when you want. but there are out of pocket costs, I have standard and love it, I rarely get sick so standard works well for me.
  4. Senior Member
    nicoleclare's Avatar
    nicoleclare is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Twentynine Palms, CA
    Posts
    9,167
    #4
    tricare told me to call TriSouth when i get to florida to change my PCM from my one here to one there that will work wtih tricare prime. if i dont, they very well could start sending me bills even if the doctor i see takes tricare prime
  5. Junior Member
    Dallasrocks's Avatar
    Dallasrocks is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,766
    #5
    https://m.humana-military.com/

    If you're living 40+ miles from a base, you'll be able to see a civilian provider while on Prime if you want. I went to their website and chose our providers before I even called so it would go a bit more quickly. It's also not a bad idea to call the provider and double check that they can see you as a patient too. The last time we switched, the kids and I were randomly assigned a PCM that didn't accept any patients under 55. It was annoying.
    Where are we going and why are we in a handbasket?
  6. Senior Member
    llove12's Avatar
    llove12 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Camp Lejeune
    Posts
    1,481
    Blog Entries
    2
    #6
    WHen we weren't by a base we had Tricare remote and did everything with civillian doctors. That was 4 years ago though.
    Married to MacGirl, chasesbabygurl, An Everyday Love and *Larz* 12-20-2009

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •